What Needs to Happen

There’s no easy way to say this, other than to just be straight up with it. So here goes nothing…

We need to see the good in the world. 

There, it’s said.

I know that this life is a good one, and that there is so much positivity and kindness in the world. But it makes me sad when the negativity is highlighted more than the positivity.

It seems that acts of kindness, service and love are often overlooked in the media – all types of media. Media channels are infiltrated with negative news, nonsense arguments, and cold-hearted opinions, and quite honestly, I hate it. This life is too good for crap like that. We are too blessed to be focusing on the harshness that this world is surrounded in. Is real life actually 90% negativity? Are you truly being you if all you share and post is negativity?

Negativity is the easy path. It’s easy to come up with excuses. It’s easy to say no. It’s easy to walk away. It’s easy to turn around. It’s easy to let the door close.

Positivity, though, seems much harder, but really it isn’t. It’s not hard to see the good. It’s not hard to lend a helping hand. It’s not hard to say yes. It’s not hard to keep the door open a little longer. It just takes a little patience and persistence.

Now, I understand that bringing awareness and providing information about situations and subjects is extremely important. I really do! And sometimes, unavoidable negative aspects are included when trying to inform, but that doesn’t mean that the light that is shined on the topic has to be completely negative. Sharing opinions and ideas is important, and differences are necessary. However, focusing on the imperfections, the right vs. wrong, the ‘what should have been done’ isn’t helping our world. Instead of focusing on the flaws of the situation, ask yourself these questions: What can I do now to help? How can I shine a positive light on this? Who needs love and kindness right now? Is there a place for me to serve? 

Shining a positive light on all circumstances, finding the good in every situation, and acknowledging the kindness in everyone isn’t easy, but it’s surely possible. 

be the good.jpg

Last year, when I was very sick, I was barely able to attend school, and didn’t really have much of a social life. However, being able to serve others in my church and through a couple of community programs was something that helped me see life more positively. My health wasn’t the most stable and my energy was lacking, but I still had a smile on my face and love in my heart. The people I served didn’t necessarily know I was sick, but they knew that I had a passion for showing others kindness and goodness. Having an outlet to show love in one of the darkest situations I’ve been in helped me stay hopeful, authentic and mentally healthy. The smiles that swept across people’s faces, the warm hugs that were shared, and the helpful impact I had on them bounced right back to me, and that’s what helped me to continue placing one foot in front of the other.

Acting kindly, loving generously, and thinking positively is so important for so many reasons. If you’ve served others, in any way, you know that helping others helps you.  Being authentic with your words, and intentional with your actions helps this world go round. Knowing that negativity is showcased with the sole purpose of sharing negativity is saddening.

When there is something horrible and tragic that you’ve seen on the news or in the media, and you feel that it’s important to share with your friends and family, instead of sharing and saying, “If this wasn’t the case, then that wouldn’t have happened!” or “I saw this coming, but I can’t wait for that person to get what he/she deserves!” I encourage you to share and say, “This is tragic and sad, and that’s life sometimes. But, we can help and pray for healing and hope.” or “This is unacceptable, but there’s so many ways for us to help. Who’s with me?” Simply changing the way you share a tragic article can change the next person’s reaction from negative to positive. Using positive language in your daily life – communicating and posting on social media – will not only inspire you to live a more positive life, but also those who are reading/seeing your posts.

If we begin to think before we react, our genuine selves will shine through so much more. Acting kindly doesn’t have to be extravagant and extraordinary. Being positive can be as simple as sharing a smile with a stranger. Loving generously can be as easy as having a simple conversation that is considerate and caring.

Xoxo,
Elise Hendrickson

“She is tossed by the waves, but does not sink.”

*Please remember these are my thoughts and ideas. I mean no offense, but will stand by my word.
4 thoughts on “What Needs to Happen

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

