YTT Update: Anatomy is Done

Hey everyone, here’s a little rant and update!

In the past 3 weeks, since getting off of grains (for the most part), eliminating refined sugars and added sugars, and just being conscious about putting real, fresh, colorful foods into my body, I’ve had more energy, more strength, more concentration and more motivation. Overall, my health is slowly but surely improving. And I couldn’t be more happy to share that.

With my increased strength and energy, I’ve been more consistent with my yoga teacher training, thus keeping me away from my blog a bit more. The yoga teacher training is going well, and I finished the first module, which was all-things anatomy, on April 1st. I’m extremely proud of myself for getting through the first part of training. Last year this time, I was struggling to attend school, I had trouble staying awake, I was experiencing extreme lack of focus, and was fighting myself to graduate high school. Knowing that I’ve been able to concentrate and complete the anatomy module, retaining knowledge, and being successful with the educational part of the training, is a huge step forward in my fight against Chronic Lyme.

The anatomy portion was intense, and I imagine the rest of the training will be just as intense. However, my gradually increasing energy and ability to retain and remember information will make a world of difference as I take on the rest of the training. The next part of my training is about technique, sequencing and energetic principles. I imagine this part will be quite intense, as this is the kind of information I have trouble grasping. But, I know it’ll be worth while, and it’s knowledge that is necessary. Moving forward is a beautiful thing. And moving forward with the ability to retain information is even more beautiful.

Though this training is quite time consuming, I’m realizing that without this training, I don’t think I would be healing the same way. This past year of fight Lyme disease has been an emotional and physical rollercoaster. My life has been flipped upside down, I’ve been led down a path I wasn’t prepared for. But, this training has provided me a sense of normalcy, I’ve seen that I’m stronger than I was, and I’m more capable than I thought I was. I’m not only learning a lot about how to be a yoga teacher, but also about myself. I’m discovering qualities about myself that I’d forgotten or hadn’t ever realized. I’m learning that my faith will only become stronger as I journey deeper and deeper into what I’ve felt called to do. I’m learning that my body is much more capable than I’d previously thought. I’m learning that my mind is more flexible than I’ve thought. I’m learning to open my heart and mind to new ways of thinking, to new ideas, and to new opinions. The further and further I get into this training, the more and more I’m finding out about all-things life.

I’m constantly being reminded of how blessed and privileged I am. I’m continuously discovering how the last two years of turbulence (some parts more disruptive than others) is teaching me to have more grace, patience, acceptance, love and courage. I’m learning more and more each day that my life, obviously not glamorous and perfect, is my life. Keeping my faith in Jesus Christ, staying hopeful and humble in the Lord’s name, and pursuing what I’m passionate about is what’s keeping me together. I continue to pray for my future, for all of the other chronic lyme victims, all those suffering with chronic illness, and anyone struggling with trialling times. We all have our own situations; and taking the time to recognize that we are bigger than ourselves, and that we can be of help to someone else – directly or indirectly – is something I hold close to my heart. I can only hope that someone may feel inspired to live in a bit more positive light, have a little more hope than yesterday, or seek out Jesus Christ’s unconditional love because of me.

Lastly, some of you have asked about where I’m doing the training through, and the training is through YogaDownload.com with Alanna Kaivalya. Alanna wrote this training, and it is offered completely online. I love the flexibility of the training, and is especially great for those of us who have unpredictable health situations, and school/work schedules. The training is practical, the mentors are super helpful, and Alanna is a great resource and teacher. If you’re interested in purchasing the training for yourself, click here: Online Yoga Teacher Training Certification, for $250 off! If you want to start yoga, switch to doing yoga online, or just begin a home-practice, you can purchase a membership to YogaDownload.com, here.

YogaDownload.com

Xoxo,
Elise Hendrickson

“She is tossed by the waves, but does not sink.”

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

