Oh-So Yummy Choco Cupcakes

Some yummy stuff coming your way!

I had a chiropractor appointment and then ran to the grocery store to pick up some stuff to make more yummies. After resting for a bit, I went for a walk with my dogs (2.19 miles to be exact), thanks to a little energy from my short nap. Then, I decided to make a cupcake mix that’s been in the cupboard for several weeks, waiting for me to bake.fullsizeoutput_5231

Today’s yummy I used the Simple Mills Chocolate Muffin and Cake Mix. The mix is made up of almond flour organic coconut sugar, cocoa, arrowroot, organic coconut flour, baking soda, and sea salt. I don’t have the exact recipe for the cupcakes, as it was a boxed mix. However, I do have some helpful tips if you buy the mix:

  1. Using coconut oil is always a great idea, and works great for these!
  2. Sweetening the mix was optional, and if you do, it called for 1/3 of cup of sugar. I used a little less than 1/3 of a cup coconut sugar to keep the recipe paleo.
  3. The box said to bake them for 15-20 minutes, and 20 minutes was perfect for my batch.fullsizeoutput_522f

Next, comes the frosting.

  • 1 cup Enjoy Life mini semi-sweet chocolate chips (Yes, these are technically paleo, and most paleo blogs that I read said that these are the best paleo chocolate chips available.)
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil (use refined coconut oil if youfullsizeoutput_522e don’t want to taste the coconut)
  • 1/4 cup vanilla Ripple milk
  • 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract
  • a pinch of salt

I put all the ingredients into a small sauce pan, turned the stove to low-medium heat, and stirred until everything was melted and combined. Once it was all melted, I moved the pan off the stove to sit for 10 minutes. I then put the pan in the refrigerator for 5 minutes, then stirred the frosting; put another 5 minutes on the clock, then stirred again; and a final 5 minute countdown, then stir and frost (make sure your cupcakes are cooled enough before frosting)! The cooling/refrigerator process could take a few more five-minute intervals, depending on how cold the refrigerator is or how hot the frosting was. The frosting is a little bit pudding-like, but it spreads well!

Both are paleo – refined sugar-free, dairy free, gluten-free/grain free!

fullsizeoutput_5232

**All of this together took me about an hour. 

This is an awesome cupcake recipe, and super simple and easy! The cupcake mix that I used can also be turned into muffins (making without the sugar added), a cake, or brownies.

Let me know if you end up making these, I’d love to hear how they turn out for you. Or if you come up with a different version, that’d be cool, too!

Xoxo,
Elise Hendrickson

“She is tossed by the waves, but does not sink.”

 

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

