An Update of Sorts

So here’s a bit of a life-update-rant.

I’ve been completely MIA lately. I’ve been having a pretty rough few weeks health wise. Just really tired/fatigued/exhausted, and just overall not feeling well.

We have come to the conclusion that my thyroid gland is not doing what it is supposed to. (Lyme most likely triggered this autoimmune response, and as a type 1 diabetic, I’m predisposed to hypothyroidism.) I was trying Naturthroid to supplement the T3/T4. However, we have figured out that the Naturthroid was actually causing more fatigue and sickness, than it was helping. So, I’m no longer taking a thyroid medication. As a plan to keep the number where they are or get them better, I’m going to try a paleo/low carb diet, with lots more colorful veggies and berries. This, hopefully, will also help my Type 1 diabetes, that we believe Lyme triggered as well. If you would like more info on the diabetes, please email me.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Mom, Logan, Me

In spite of the latest symptoms and craziness, I’m still smiling and doing my best to get up and get moving – even if it’s just 15 minutes of gentle yoga. I was able to go to a lacrosse game with my mom at Kennesaw state to watch a friend who plays for Marquette. Marquette won, and Logan got her first in-season NCAA goal. I also went and took photos for my mom’s work event, and spent the entire day resting before it. I haven’t been up to much, other than the occasional baking.

I have been raiding Pinterest for paleo anything and everything. Eating a paleo diet can be either extremely boring, or totally exciting. I’m already gluten-free and dairy free, so we’ll see how easy this is (or hard, who knows). I have decided that I will get back to sharing recipes that I find and love; this time – everything paleo. They’ll be posted to the Home page, and to the “What To Eat” tab.

To that point, I made a loaf of paleo banana breadfullsizeoutput_522b.jpeg today, and it smells and tastes DELICIOUS. I found the recipe on Pinterest (of course), and the author’s other recipes look awesome too. It was a super easy recipe to make. I followed the recipe exactly, using different brands of the ingredients, and following the weight for the flours (I’ve found following weight when using GF flours yields the best results). I used coconut oil instead of butter, and it worked great! I ended up baking mine for 40 minutes without aluminum foil, and then 10 minutes with foil, for anyone who is wondering. Here is the recipe, her blog post, and her blog. See her post for nutrition info, other helpful tips and comments from others.

1 cup + 1 tbsp (250g/2 medium bananas) ripe mashed banana
2 1/2 tbsp (50g) honey
2 tsp (10ml) vanilla extract
3 1/2 tbsp (50g) butter orcoconut oil, melted
1/4 cup (60g) unsweetened applesauce
4 eggs (~200g)
1/2 cup (55g) coconut flour (I recommend this one for the best results!)
1/2 cup (50g) almond meal
3/4 tsp baking soda

  • Preheat your oven to 170C/340F.
  • Grease and line a small loaf tin (we used this 21cm x 7.5cm deep loaf tin) and set aside.
  • In a medium mixing bowl, mash your bananas and add in your honey, vanilla, melted butter/coconut oil, applesauce and eggs.
  • Mix in your coconut flour, baking soda and almond meal and allow to sit for two minutes. The mix will look really runny at first, but the coconut flour will soon absorb the liquid and form a thicker batter. It’s more of a pancake batter consistency than a thick cake batter, however, if your mix is extremely liquidy, add in coconut flour one teaspoon at a time (I don’t recommend doing this unless your coconut flour is not very absorbent – if you use this coconut flour you’ll have a perfect batter!)
  • Pour your banana bread mixture into your prepared loaf tin and bake for 40 minutes to an hour (keep an eye on it – cooking times will depend on your pan size) or until your loaf is cooked through and a skewer inserted into the middle removes clean.
  • If your banana bread is browning too quickly but isn’t cooked in the middle, cover it with foil.
  • Allow to cool completely before slicing.
  • We find this banana bread keeps best in a sealed container in the refridgerator and it will keep for up to a week. You can also freeze the slices by wrapping the slices individually and storing them in a sealed zip lock bag in the freezer.

Thank you to Kristy from Southern In Law for the delicious recipe!

I’m still pretty sick, but the reality of going to school is less than 6 months away, and I’m totally stoked. I still have quite a-ways to go in my health journey, but I’ve also made a lot of progress. I’m beginning to mentally prepare for my college adventure, and I continue to pray for healing for myself and all of the other spoonies out there.

One last thing before I end this little rant. I am making progress on my Yoga Teacher Training, slowly but surely. The past few weeks have been tough due to my lack of energy and cognitive function. But, I’m feeling more awake and clear-minded now. I’m excited to dive deeper into this part of my life. I’ve gained motivation to immerse myself in the learning process, thanks to the awesome Facebook group and my family and friends who keep encouraging me. Becoming a yoga teacher is a dream and now I have the ability to make it reality; and to me, after the last year and a half of fighting for my health and wellness, it’s going to be an incredible day when I’m finished with it! (Though, I know that yoga is a continuous journey of exploration and education. I’ll at least have accomplished one major goal in my life.)

Thanks for all of your support, love and prayers.

“Give your burdens to the lord, and he will take care of you.” ~ Psalm 55:22

Xoxo,

Elise Hendrickson

“She is tossed by the waves, but does not sink.”

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

