9 Hours In

I’m about 9 hours into the 500 hours of teacher training. It’s been great to get back into the groove of learning. Having the opportunity to learn what I love is awesome, and I thank God for His amazing work every chance that I get. I thought I’d give a little overview of a few things before I dive into the thick of it all.

What do I want to get out of Yoga Teacher Training?

There are 4 main things…

  • Discover a deeper understanding of my mind-body connection. I want to explore my personal mind and body, separately and together. I want to be as efficient as I can (and I don’t just mean time). I want to learn how to optimize my individual strengths and talents, so that I can grow in the areas that I’m weaker.
  • Become more aware of Yoga’s powers/benefits. I know that yoga heals, strengthens, facilitates personal growth, and helps build relationships. But, I want to explore yoga, inside and out. I know that there is more to learn and discover, and that’s just what I plan on doing.
  • Learn to share yoga with everyone who’s willing to learn. I know that yoga can be intimidating and difficult, but so can everything else in life. I want to be able to share yoga with as many people as possible simply because I know that it’s made a huge difference in my own life – physically and mentally. wallstand.jpeg
  • Figure out how to continually grow my personal practice so that other’s can continue to benefit from me. Yoga isn’t something that you practice for 10 years and then you’re perfect at EVERYTHING. It takes hard work, time and patience, and I’m excited to continue to put my mind and body to the test.

Why does this training opportunity mean so much?

  • This opportunity means so much to me because I’m not in school, I’m sick, and I’ve had my life pretty much robbed from me. I decided to defer from college for one year, and I surrendered my future to God. I asked Him to guide me and take care of me. I prayed for healing, strength, answers, peace and opportunities. And here I am, taking God’s voice and running with it. I dreamt about becoming a yoga teacher for about a year, but never really thought it would be a reality, simply because I had planned on going to college to pursue a degree in the medical field. But, because one dream has been put on hold, it means that another dream will come true. (Did I ever tell you that God works in mysterious ways?) I will have the tools to help others heal, just as I have begun to. I will have the platform to share my story, learn from other’s, grow into a better version of myself and build strength, mentally and physically, to get me through this life. I’m extremely grateful for my parents who believe in me and support me in this whirlwind of a journey. Having the ability to teach yoga for the rest of my life provides so many unknown opportunities, and I am so excited to explore this new world.

What will I do now that I’m a certified yoga teacher?

  • Well, if you were wondering, I am still going to college. I will teach yoga when I’ve got time for some extra (likely needed) money throughout college, and throughout my life. I hope to incorporate my yoga teaching background into a major. I would like to do some sort of physical rehabilitation, probably PT degree, and work yoga into that practice. I honestly have no idea what’s going to come out of all this dreaming, but I know that God has a plan. I also know, that God has given me this opportunity to become a yoga teacher for a reason. I know that I’m not in college right now because I’m sick, and now I know that becoming a yoga teacher is part of God’s ultimate plan for me. I try not to get ahead of myself, and so for right now, I’m in the right place.

“If I keep my eyes on God, I will not trip over my own feet.” ~Psalm 25:15 MSG

Xoxo,
Elise Hendrickson

“She is tossed by the waves, but does not sink.”

P.S. I do plan on keeping y’all updated with my progress, thoughts, and hopes of the training, so don’t forget to subscribe to my blog to get email updates every time I post! You can also like my Facebook page, where I update my status with each new blog post from this site and my photography site. You can find both of these ‘buttons’ on the right hand of your computer screen, or the bottom of the page on a tablet or smart-phone. 

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

