It All Starts Now: Yoga Teacher Training

Yoga Teacher Training Entry #1: January 14, 2017

Before I begin this documentation of my journey, I feel that I should share a few things.

  1. I am not a yoga teacher, yet.
  2. I have been practicing yoga for 3 years, fairly consistently with the exception of a few months due to health reasons.
  3. I have a passion to discover the mind-body connection.
  4. I know that this is going to be a lot of work, but I also know that it’s going to be worth it.
  5. I still plan on attending college at University of Puget Sound the fall of 2017.
  6. I also plan on incorporating this training and yoga in general into my major, somehow.
  7. My body is still healing, I am still healing from Lyme. This is going to be a challenge, but I know that it will help me heal in more ways than just physical strength.
  8. I do not have every yoga pose mastered, nor do I even know every yoga pose.
  9. I am extremely excited to put my mind to work, stretch my body’s abilities, and expand my soul’s horizon.
  10. I am doing this training online and it is a 500 hour course. This is the best option for me, right now, considering my health. I really want to do this, but I know that I’m going to have bad days and won’t be able to do much on those days. (Thank you Alanna for creating a platform that works for all lifestyles.)
  11. Lastly, I am not perfect, and I never will be. But, with God on my side, I know I will put my whole self into this and I am going to become the best yoga teacher that I can be.
  12. I know that I will never be done practicing yoga, I will always be exploring my mind and body, and my relationship with God will continue to grow.

So, here it goes. I opened the teacher training portal and got through the first part. I now understand what is involved and how much work this is going to be. It’s a bit intimidating, but there’s a whole community of trainees out there, and I will have an tons of support and encouragement to get me through the struggles.

I see that I’m going to be challenging my mind a lot more than my body, and I’m excited about that. Having done practically nothing for the last 7 months (besides fight Lyme), I am ready for some excitement.

I am motivated and determined to get this done, because I know that when it’s all said and done, I will have the ability to share the healing powers of yoga with anyone who is willing to learn. I am ready to explore this practice in a deeper way and make myself a better me.

This yoga teacher training will give me the tools to help others heal from whatever they feel is breaking them down. I will obtain knowledge of my own body and mind that I never would’ve without this opportunity. I will be connected to a community of fellow yogis who love what they do, and do what they love.

I know that my life will change, but it will be for the better. My outlook on life will broaden, and I am so excited. My faith will be made stronger, and I’m incredibly grateful.

Becoming a yoga teacher has been a dream of mine for months and I never really thought it’d become a reality. But, here I am, beginning to learn the ins and outs of the body, the history, the lifestyle, the motivation, the poses, and everything in between.

I have said, lately, that I’m in the right place for the right now. And I believe that with my whole heart. I am currently living in Georgia with my parents for my recovery year from Chronic Lyme Disease. It is not where my heart is happy, it is not where I dreamt I’d be the year after I graduated high school. But, I am also currently exploring the art of photography. I am learning to write better. I am working on getting my blog off the ground. I am exploring the world in a way I never imagined I would. And now I am beginning my yoga teacher training. So, for right now, I’m most definitely in the right place.

“God’s loyal love couldn’t have run out, his merciful love couldn’t have dried up. They’re created new every morning. How great your faithfulness! I’m sticking with God (I say it over and over). He’s all I’ve got left.” ~ Lamentations 3:22-24 (MSG)

Xoxo,
Elise Hendrickson

P.S. Thank you mom and dad for believing in me, for supporting me, and for encouraging me. I love you guys more than words will ever be able to express. And I don’t think I’ll ever be able to explain the gratitude I have for all that you’ve done and sacrificed for me. Thank you. ❤

  • I’d love to connect with anyone who is going through teacher training, is thinking about, or has gone through it! 
  • Don’t hesitate to email with any questions, comments or words of encouragement regarding my training: elise.hendrickson@icloud.com
  • Check out my photography blog: Live Younique Photography
  • Why am I not in college? Taking a Gap Year
I'd love to hear your thoughts...

