Your Body is Meant for More

Your body is meant for more than you think.

Your body wants to be tested.

Your body wants to be trusted.

Your body wants to be tried.

Your body is creatively, and perfectly made. Your body is capable of more than you know.

Feeling good when you have a chronic illness is sometimes few and far between. But when there are good days, I am going to challenge myself more, push myself harder, and stretch my body further than I usually do.

You don’t get stronger with lifting the same 5 pound dumbbell your entire life. You don’t get more flexible by stopping at the same point every day. Your body needs to be pushed.

Your body deserves to be treated with the utmost respect and honor. You were given a unique, beautiful body by God. Now use it. Push it.

Maybe you aren’t a weight lifter, fine. Maybe running isn’t your thing, fine. Maybe you hate stretching, fine. Maybe you don’t like exercise at all, fine.

Do something nice for your body.

Go on a hike. Take a walk. Go swimming. Go biking. Try a new class at the gym. Actually go to the gym. Workout at home. Carry two 5 pound books up and down the stairs 3 times. Do heal raises while you brush your teeth. Do squats while curling your hair (just don’t burn yourself). Look on Pinterest for fun workout ideas – you’d be surprised how creative people get!

Do your body (and mind) a favor, and push yourself.

People have always said, a healthy body makes for a healthy mind.

You don’t have to go crazy with the workouts. Eat right. Eat more raw food than processed. Eat more fresh fruit than sugar-filled snacks. Eat more lean meat than frozen meals. Make your body happy, and your heart will be happy.

I am so happy that I am beginning to get stronger and more flexible again. My heart is happier, and my body is craving more each day. Today I pushed myself more than I thought I was capable. I put myself into poses I haven’t done in over a year. I maneuvered into stretches I haven’t done in months. Processed with VSCO with f2 presetProcessed with VSCO with f2 preset

fullsizeoutput_474a
And sometimes you fall. Persevere.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A positive lifestyle isn’t always rainbows and butterflies. A positive lifestyle includes (but not limited to) doing what makes your heart happy, sharing your passions to inspire others to pursue their passions, showing your body some well-deserved love, and making the most of what you’re given.

Your body is meant for more. Your body needs more. Your body becomes weak and inefficient if it is not pushed. Your immune system begins to shut down if your body is not pushed. Your muscles lose memory of their purpose if you don’t push yourself.

I challenge you to push yourself today, tomorrow and everyday after that. Push yourself physically, and your thoughts will change from cannots to cans. Push yourself mentally, and your body will surprise you.

Sometimes you just need to push yourself. Be motivated to treat yourself better, because you deserve it.

Xoxo,
Elise Hendrickson

“She is tossed by the waves, but does not sink.”

 

One thought on “Your Body is Meant for More

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

