Good Green Food

Have you ever had a green smoothie that tastes like dirt? Yeah, me too.

I hated putting greens in my smoothies after the first green smoothie my mom made because it had a funny color and texture, and I could actually taste the greens (really, this was just my mind being picky because it wasn’t a strawberry banana smoothie). However, my chiropractor told me several months ago that I needed to increase my vegetable intake, as most people do. I thought the easiest way of doing that was to make things with vegetables, instead of eating the veggies outright. I made zucchini chocolate muffins that were delicious! I then thought about adding some greens into my smoothies again.

Oh yes, I added a small amount of frozen kale and spinach. And by small, I actually mean tiny, like 4 leaves of each. I was stepping WAY out of my comfort zone. I am really picky when it comes to textures of things, so I was worried that, for some reason, spinach would make my smoothie have a funny texture. Each time I had a smoothie I added in a couple more leaves to my smoothie; keep in mind I couldn’t actually taste the greens, it only makes the smoothie a funky color (sometimes).

So, this life lesson brings me here. I made two smoothies in the last two days that were amazing. I don’t follow a recipe, therefore I don’t exactly know how much I use of each ingredient. (Isn’t cooking all about experimenting???)

The first smoothie: My version of a Wendy’s Frosty. Green Chocolate Shake. Wait, should the two words be allowed in the same sentence? Oh, yes they should. The color of this smoothie was a bit scary at first, but when I first tasted it, it was incredible.

  • 1 scoop of chocolate vegan protein powder (I use Plant Fusion Complete Plant Protein). *4 carbs
  • ~1/2 Tablespoon of cocoa powder
  • ~1/2 Tablespoon of coconut oil
  • ~1 cup of unsweetened almond milk
  • ~1 frozen banana *26 carbs 
  • ~2 handfuls of spinach (frozen or fresh work)
  • 4-6 ice cubes (omit or decrease if you use frozen spinach)

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Add all ingredients to the blender, a high-speed blender works best (I use a Vitamix). Blend until smooth. Pour into a cup and enjoy. The best part about this smoothie is that it’s only 30 carbs. I don’t worry about caloric intake, but as a Type 1 Diabetic, carbs are important to me. The less carbs, the easier it is to give myself insulin.

The second smoothie: Tropical Green Dream. There was no more almond milk in the fridge, so I ended up opening a can of coconut milk and separated that water from the fat. The water was perfect for a tropical smoothie. Thus, my smoothie is called Tropical Green Dream.

  • ~1/2 cup of coconut water from the can
  • 5-7 pieces of frozen pineapple (I use the frozen pineapple from Costco) *18 carbs
  • 6-7 frozen strawberries (again, I use the frozen strawberries from Costco) *10 carb
  • ~2 handfuls of fresh spinach (you can use frozen, too)
  • 1 frozen banana *26 carbs
  • ~1/2 Tablespoon of coconut oil
  • a little bit of water to thin it down

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Add all ingredients to the blender. Blend until smooth. Pour into a cup and enjoy. This was a totally made up smoothie, but turned out SO good. And I mean, seriously good. The carb count on this is 44 carbs. Not bad.

Smoothies are a go-to for my mornings. I usually wake up late and am not usually very hungry. The smoothies are great because I don’t have to chew anything (chewing often makes me nauseous). Smoothies have given me a way to drink protein, fruits and vegetables without making me feel sick.

Now go make yourself a green smoothie, because green food is good food (:

Xoxo,
Elise Hendrickson

“She is tossed by the waves, but does not sink.”

One thought on “Good Green Food

  1. THey both sound yummy and similar to what I make. I just put whatever as far as fruits, etc are concerned. I even put cherry tomatoes in this summer when they were plentiful and have done kale and spinach alot. First I didn’t like the color but just another color in the rainbow. Maybe I need to add some other veggies in also and also add other fruits – apples give a nice flavor. Love, Namma

    On Thu, Oct 20, 2016 at 11:52 AM, Live Younique wrote:

    > liveyounique posted: “Have you ever had a green smoothie that tastes like > dirt? Yeah, me too. I hated putting greens in my smoothies after the first > green smoothie my mom made because it had a funny color and texture, and I > could actually taste the greens (really, this was ju” >

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

