Jesus Loves Me

Jesus loves me! This I know, 
For the Bible tells me so;
Little ones to Him belong,
They are weak but He is strong.
Yes, Jesus loves me!
Yes, Jesus loves me!
Yes, Jesus loves me!
The Bible tells me so.

Let’s break this down.

Jesus loves me! This I know – If you’re like me, you were taught this from birth. You knew from a very young age that Jesus loves you. However, some of you may be different than me. Maybe you didn’t grow up in a Christian home and it took you a few years to figure out who Jesus was and that Jesus loves you. And maybe some of you don’t believe, or don’t know what to believe. So, here’s an idea: You’ve got free love. Love that you didn’t have to work for. Love that has been given to you because of a sacrifice. Love that you don’t have to regret. Love that you don’t need to apologize for. Love that is unconditional and unending. Love that needs to be grabbed and embraced. That love is waiting for you to grasp it and to hold on to it. I know that Jesus loves you.

Version 2

For the Bible tells me so – Simple? NO. The Bible is scary. The Bible is long. The Bible gets confusing, boring, sometimes a little bit depressing. And yet we are expected to know that the Bible, that terrifying book, tells us that Jesus loves me, and you. Well actually, despite your opinions (or fears) about the Bible, I guarantee that 9 times out of 10 that you open your Bible to any given page, you will open it to a page that talks about God’s eternal love, Jesus’ unconditional love. So, therefore, the Bible does tell me so. You just got to believe the first line of the song, “Jesus loves me! This I know.” Though the Bible can be intimidating. The Bible is a beautiful series of stories, showing love, sacrifice, hardships, miracles, dark times and bright lights. The Bible is the ultimate book. And it clearly states that Jesus loves us.

Little ones to Him belong – Holy cow… Little ones, meaning us, His children, the people of Christ, the humans on Earth, the innovators, the doctors, the engineers, the creators, the speakers, the business people, the actors, the researchers, the writers, the singers, the builders, the teachers, the students, the athletes, the coaches, the civil service members, the moms, the dads, the wives, the husbands, the sisters and brothers. Us. We are the little ones. This is implying how big God is. If all 7 billion of us inhabitants of this planet are so little, God must be pretty dang big. Yes, this may be a children’s song, but the little one’s that are talked about aren’t just children by age, but are children by God – meaning every single one of us. His love is all inclusive. We are His little ones.

They are weak but He is strong – We are very weak. We don’t always know how to be strong. We can’t always be strong. We break down. We lose it. We cry and yell. We shed tears and blood. We give up and give in. We, His little children, are weak. But, Jesus Christ, God’s only son, is very strong. He sacrificed the ultimate sacrifice. His own life. So that we could be loved. I’ve said this before, and I’ll say it again. He endured the worst of the worst, so we could experience the best of the best. We are weak, but in His presence, with His love, we are oh-so strong. Through every heartbreak, every hardship, every illness, every injury, every shameful sin, every dark time, Jesus will forever be so much stronger than that. He will carry us on His shoulders. He will bring us to triumphs. He will show us strength like we’ve never seen before (not even like Olympic athletes). We are loved and forever will be.

And then the song repeats those precious words:

Yes, Jesus loves me! Yes, Jesus loves me! Yes, Jesus loves me! 

Those words need to resonate in this world. Everyone needs to be reminded of that great love. That love that will save us from hate. That love that will save us from our very own selves. That love that will un-teach the negative. That love that will show us grace and forgiveness. That love that will reveal honesty and vulnerability.

That love that will heal all wounds.

Xoxo,
Elise Hendrickson

“She is tossed by the waves, but does not sink.”

*Listen to Whitney Houston sing Yes, Jesus Loves Me: https://youtu.be/uHm9Ggdanyo

**This is my personal interpretation. Please take it graciously and openly.

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

