The Meaning Behind My Tattoo

Today, I decided to get a tattoo. I was really nervous but at the same time I was so ready. I was scared but at the same time I was so excited. I knew that I wanted this and I knew I will never regret my decision.

I’ve been writing, “She is tossed by the waves, but does not sink,” at the end of every blog for a while now and before I started adding it to my blog I used the phrase as my mantra. I woke up and repeated the words. I would take a shower and repeat the words. I would be in traffic and I would repeat the words. I would be at a doctors appointment and I would repeat the words. She is tossed by the waves, but does not sink. This will continue to be my life mantra.

A constant reminder of the strength that Christ provides. A constant reminder of my own willpower because of Christ. A constant reminder that Christ will not allow me to sink, no matter how big the waves of life. A constant reminder to stay calm.

13726640_526740757515689_4130624048495463970_nThe phrase has a french origin and history, however, I spun it and made it into my own meaning. The idea of water playing a role into the phrase gives me peace of mind. Water is a big stress reliever for me. Knowing that water is free flowing and has the ability to adapt in different conditions is something that makes my heart happy. Water is serene, it’s vast, it’s deep, it’s remarkable. I was baptized in the waters of Christ and will forever be saved. I will forever be new. I will forever be blessed. I will forever be loved.

She is tossed by the waves, but does not sink.

I know that I will not sink with faith in Christ and with God’s grace I will remain afloat.

I do not feel obligated to explain my tattoo, I do not feel like I owe anyone a reason for my tattoo. However, I feel that it is my place to share the power of words, the power of Christ, and the power of faith. I feel that it is my place to share the strength that is found within Christ. My tattoo is a constant reminder of that strength and ability to stay afloat when I have Jesus Christ on my side.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

xoxo,
Elise Hendrickson

“She is tossed by the waves, but does not sink.”

 

3 thoughts on “The Meaning Behind My Tattoo

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

