Love Your Mind

In the midst of work, school, friends, loved ones, family, sports, church, meditation, etc – do we give ourselves enough credit? Do we truly look and say “good job brain”? 

  

I love to workout. I love yoga. I love running. I love strength training. I love sweating and making my body feel better. And as a result of working out, my body feels good and looks good. If you are one who works out, you understand. If you are uber passionate about sweating, you think the same as I do. We often think of the physical feelings. And we often get sidetracked. When there is free time in the day, we will take it to do something that makes us physically happy (Don’t get me wrong, that is totally a good thing!!!).

 However, when we are so busy and our minds and bodies work so hard, all the time, we don’t often THINK of the things that make our brain happy. Now, it is proven that when one works out/sweats, a chemical is released from one’s brain that makes one feel better. People like to call it the happy chemical. That makes sense!! No wonder why people actually like to workout. 

Back to my point, the chemical is released and it makes you less stressed, and more happy. But sometimes, working out isn’t actually good for you. If you are dead exhausted and you can barely keep your eyes open, don’t workout. You will A) hurt yourself because of bad form, and B) get frustrated because your performance is not what it should be. Think about it for a second, something that is super good for your body, could actually be not good for your brain, and vice versa. 

Now, I am ranting a bit, but I do have a point. 

Meditate. 

Meditation gives you a chance to rejuvenate, relax and reset. I do yoga. A lot. I love it. And one HUGE part of yoga is to meditate. I have found many different ways of meditating, some that work, some that I love and some that I hate. We all must learn to love ourselves mentally. Meditation is the easiest way to do that. You get to reflect on yourself, while being aware of your surroundings, but having the weight of your life be released. 

  

I challenge whoever is reading this to sit on the floor and let every muscle in your body relax. Think about your day, where you went, how long you have been awake for, who you saw, what you talked about, when you left your house, how you got home. Think. 

Next, thank yourself. Give yourself a pat on the back. You’ve done hard work today, and you deserve a some mental love. 

Then, relax. Lay down. Stand up. Stay seated. Whatever, but just relax. Wipe everything away, and just be. Be you. Don’t be the chaotic mom who runs around, don’t be the stressed out high school student, don’t be the self conscious college student, don’t be the over worked dad. Just be you. 

Be who God made you to be. A beautiful human to make a positive impact on the world. Meditate. Pick a word, and think about any and everything that relates to that word. How can you make that word, make a difference in someone else’s life? 

Love yourself mentally. Physical shape is awesome, but your mental shape is even more important. 

 

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

